Fellowships awarded to five outstanding leaders in Victorian schools


Five prestigious Fellowships for leaders in education have been announced today by the Menzies Foundation in partnership with the Collier Charitable
Fund, supported by the University of Melbourne.

“We’re delighted to announce the first recipients of the Menzies School Leader Fellowship and the new Collier School Leader Fellowship to support leadership
in schools,” said Menzies Foundation CEO Liz Gillies.

“Four outstanding school leaders from Victorian schools have been awarded a $150,000 Menzies School Leader Fellowship. This program, anchored by the
Menzies Foundation, with research input from the University of Melbourne’s Graduate School of Education, represents an investment of $2M to support educational excellence.

“In addition, thanks to a new partnership with the Collier Charitable Fund, a fifth school
leader has been awarded the Collier School Leader Fellowship to undertake the School Leadership Program. This new partnership offers more opportunities
to support school leaders who have the capacity to make catalytic change to improve student learning outcomes,” Ms Gillies said.
Over the next three years the five Fellows will have the opportunity to work with internationally renowned Laureate Professor John Hattie to develop their
leadership capabilities to build collective efficacy in their schools. As well as undertaking this bespoke Leadership Development program, valued at
over $50,000, each Fellow will receive $30,000 for the Collective Efficacy Project, $24,000 for professional development and travel, as well as membership
of the University of Melbourne’s Network of Schools program for each Fellow’s school, worth $46,000, and membership of the Menzies Alumni.
“The Fellows have been selected based on their leadership potential and the collective efficacy pilots they propose to undertake in their school during
the Fellowship,” Ms Gillies said.
The successful Fellows are:
Menzies School Leader Fellowship
  • Georgia Heffernan, Deputy Principal at Catholic Ladies College, Eltham
  • Tim O’Leary, Director of Learning at St John’s College, Preston
  • Christopher Short, Principal at Berwick Chase Primary School, Narre Warren South
  • James Taylor, Assistant Principal at Richmond High School, Richmond
Collier School Leader Fellowship
  • Karen Snibson, Principal at Phoenix P-12 Community College, Sebastopol
Executive Officer at the Collier Charitable Fund, Wendy Lewis, said education is a specific area of interest for the Fund. “The focus of the Collier School
Leader Fellowship is to recognise the work of a woman in a leadership role within a government school,” Ms Lewis said. “We’re excited to be partnering
with the Menzies Foundation to create this Fellowship in honour of the Collier sisters and their wonderful philanthropic contribution.”
The School Leader Fellowship will initially be piloted in Victoria, with the hope to extend Australia-wide in the future to support the next generation
of emerging leaders in education across the country. Four Menzies Fellows and one Collier Fellow will be appointed each year for the next three years.
Established in 1979 to perpetuate the legacy of Sir Robert Menzies, Australia’s longest serving Prime Minister, the Menzies Foundation has a 40-year track
record in backing outstanding leaders. The Foundation plays a philanthropic role in supporting the development of leadership capability in three priority
areas of: leadership in schools; entrepreneurship in science; and guiding Australia’s response to complex global legal issues, with a particular focus
currently on cyber security.
The Collier Charitable Fund created the Collier School Leader Fellowship to acknowledge the Collier sisters Alice, Annette and Edith. The Fund commenced
in 1954 and since this time it has supported over 3,000 organisations and distributed over $100m.