Former public service head joins Menzies’ board

15 April 2015

Terry Moran Board MemberFormer head of the Commonwealth Public Service, Terry Moran AC, has joined the Menzies Foundation Board.

Mr Moran was the Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet in Victoria from 2000 and later Secretary of the Federal Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet from 2008 to 2011. His current roles include Chair of the Barangaroo Delivery Authority in NSW and National President of the Institute of Public Administration Australia.

Mr Moran is one of five new Directors to join the Menzies Foundation Board in the last 12 months, bringing significant new talent and a range of skills to the table.

Peter Jopling AM QC has an extensive commercial law practice in the State Supreme and Federal Courts. He is also a Governor of the Florey Neurosciences Institute, Director of the Legal Services Board, Chair of the List G Barristers Pty Ltd, Member of the Advisory Board of the Centre for Ethical Leadership at the University of Melbourne and Director of the Ian Potter Museum of Art.

Strengthening the investment and finance expertise already on the board, Tony Connon from Australian Unity and Craig Thorburn from the Future Fund have both become Directors of the Menzies Foundation. Mr Connon has taken on the role of Treasurer and is the Chairman of the Investment and Finance Committee.

Dr Josie Barbaro, the 2006 Menzies Foundation Scholar in the Allied Health Sciences, and Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Olga Tennison Autism Research Centre at La Trobe University, has joined the board in her capacity as Secretary of the Menzies Memorial Scholars Association. Dr Barbaro is an expert in the field of Autism Spectrum Disorder research.

Chairman of the Menzies Foundation, Brian Doyle AM, welcomed the new members of the Board and paid tribute to long-serving board members who have retired from the Board; Charles Kiefel OAM (after 28 years), Brian Jamieson and Ross Illingworth (both Directors for 10 years) and Nick Callinan (5 years). Mr Doyle said the four retiring Directors had shown incredible leadership and commitment and wished them well in their future endeavours.