Fielding Menzies Tertiary Scholarships

About the scholarships:

The Fielding Menzies Tertiary Scholarships provide financial support to secondary students from the rural Wimmera region in North West Victoria. The scholarships will enable the successful students to realise their ambition to study at the University of Melbourne.

The Menzies Foundation, Fielding Foundation and Ormond College have partnered together to offer a unique and prestigious scholarship opportunity for two students, who may not otherwise have the opportunity to study at the University of Melbourne and live on campus in Melbourne.

The Fielding Menzies Tertiary Scholarships acknowledge the value of tertiary education and aim to increase the opportunity for committed senior rural students to undertake a university qualification. Students who demonstrate a strong desire and capacity to study and learn, but are likely to experience economic hardship, will be eligible to apply.

Two scholarships will be offered to commence study each year for the next three years (2016, 2017 and 2018) and will cover residency costs at Ormond College for up to the first three years of the successful applicants’ undergraduate degree.

“We need leaders from rural Australia. Rural Australians often bring a unique perspective to global issues – be it in the field of environment, health, science, engineering or law. By fostering Australia’s rural students, we can play a part in embedding these unique perspectives in the next generation of Australian leaders.”

Sarah Hardy, CEO of the Menzies Foundation.

The late Sir Robert Menzies was born and grew up in rural Victoria in the small town of Jeparit. He came from humble beginnings and benefitted greatly from scholarships to continue his education at school in Melbourne and then onto the University of Melbourne. Sir Robert became Australia’s longest-serving Prime Minister.

The Fielding Foundation, the Menzies Foundation and Ormond College at the University of Melbourne want to provide that same opportunity for students in regional and rural Victoria, to access excellent tertiary education and be part of a university community.

About the partners:

The Fielding Foundation was established in 2005 and funds education scholarships to assist financially disadvantaged students with secondary schooling and graduate education. The Fielding Foundation is contributing towards each three-year scholarship commencing between 2016 and 2018.

The Menzies Foundation was established in 1979 to perpetuate the legacy of Australia’s longest serving Prime Minister, Sir Robert Menzies. The Menzies Foundation has a vision to inspire and nurture Australia’s future leaders. As a national, non-profit organisation, the Foundation has awarded more than 200 prestigious scholarships over 35 years to bright and inspiring young Australians. It was Sir Robert’s early start in life and education, coupled with his extensive experience in public life, which underpins the philosophy of the Menzies Foundation’s work. Sir Robert was a strong believer in the transformative power of educational opportunity.

Ormond College is the largest residential college at the University of Melbourne with around 430 residents including 380 undergraduate and 50 graduate residents.

The college prides itself on encouraging academic excellence, diversity and leadership. Ormond has a strong tradition of helping rural and regional students make the best possible transition to the University of Melbourne. In addition to assisting with the application and selection process, Ormond College is contributing to the remaining residency cost for each of the Fielding Menzies scholarship recipients.

Eligible schools:

To be eligible for a scholarship students must be accepted into a course at The University of Melbourne and be graduating year 12 from one of the following schools:

Edenhope College; St Brigid’s College; Horsham College; Goroke P-12 College; Kaniva College; Hopetoun P-12 College; Murtoa College; Warracknabeal College; Dimboola Memorial SC; Nhill College; Rainbow P-12 College; St Arnaud Secondary College; Stawell Secondary College; Donald High School or Birchip P-12 College

Eligibility Criteria:

Fielding Menzies Tertiary Scholarship Eligibility Criteria (.pdf download)

Past recipients:

The 2016 scholarships have been awarded to:   

Sienna Amarant from Stawell Secondary College:

Driven by a passion for human rights and international politics, Sienna Amarant will be the first person in her family to attend university and will undertake a Bachelor of Arts majoring in Politics and International Study.

Ashleigh Miller from Horsham Secondary College:

A passion for maths and science coupled with a craving for creativity have steered Ashleigh Miller towards an architecture degree.